(c) FloydCountyRECORD.com/Deon Zumwalt
(c) FloydCountyRECORD.com/Deon Zumwalt

FLOYDADA - In an outside ceremony, Floydada's Class of 2020 graduated, Friday evening, May 21st at Whirlwind Stadium.

"You are the first, and will be the only, class to graduate outside," stated Principal Wayne Morren in his address to the seniors before the official ceremony.

The seniors lined up at the north side of Whirlwind Stadium, and made their way to the "social distanced" chairs lined up on the track's surface. With balloons tied to the seats, the Class of 2020 was set to experience their graduation from high school.

Salutatorian Emily Cisneros encouraged her fellow classmates to continue to move forward, even through unexpected and unfamiliar events.

Principal Morren announced the class's top 10: Azalea Garza, Emily Cisneros, Yelena Serrato, Lindsey Marquez, Izel Pacheco, Mike delaFuente, Garrett Hobbs, Jeffrey Loustaunau, Sinai Padilla, and Angela Vega.

The recipients of Who's Who honors are chosen by their teachers: Ruth Villareal, Mike delaFuente, Azalea Garza, Lindsey Marquez, Izel Pacheco, Garrett Hobbs, Emily Cisneros, and Yelena Serrato.

Each student receiving scholarships were presented to them individually as they crossed the stage.

Named as Miss FHS was Azalea Garza; votes for Mr. FHS were tied, thus two were named: Mr. FHS Garrett Hobbs and Mr. FHS Mike delaFuente.

Valdectorian Azalea Garza took the podium and reminisced about highlights of school years with her classmates, but ended her address encouraging her peers to push through adversity. Being the only senior cheerleader, Azalea took the stage to lead her Senior Class in the class song.

Floydada High School's Class of 2020 transferred their tassels, and were deemed "Graduated!" by Principal Morren.